12 Things I Love About Chemistry

Okay, I’m late to the party, but here are my contributions. This might be a fitting (and easy) way for me to get in the game.

  1. Submitting pure target compound to an assay for testing
  2. Purifying crude material by trituration and avoiding a tedious chromatography
  3. Finding an inexpensive, reliable vendor for a critical intermediate as an alternative to Aldrich
  4. That moment when a crystallization begins to bloom
  5. Elucidating the structure of an impurity that gives you insight to optimizing reaction conditions
  6. Using a synthetic step from the literature that’s really old (i.e., older than me)
  7. When pure product crashes out of a reaction mixture
  8. Spot-to-spot conversion by TLC
  9. When a colleague is excited about an experimental result
  10. That “A-ha” moment in data analysis
  11. Tension-free project meetings
  12. Learning early on that being serious about science wasn’t the same as being solemn
This entry was posted in chemistry, lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 12 Things I Love About Chemistry

  1. Chemjobber says:

    “Tension-free project meetings”

    A rare treasure, sometimes.

  2. Sherika W. says:

    #9 and #10 sounds just like me. Good post!

  3. Pingback: Chemistry Blog » Blog Archive » A Few of My Favorite (Chemistry) Things

Leave a comment